Image Alt

Bord na nÓg History


Askeaton-Ballysteen and Kilcornan are neighbouring parishes in West Limerick situated on the mouth of the River Deel. Our club was formed in 1995.  It was formed by some Askeaton and Ballysteen GAA club members and parents from both parishes to run the juvenile part of the club and Askeaton would look after the hurling and Ballysteen would concentrate on the football. With people like Larry Meade, Seamus Fitz, Vincent Gallagher, Mary Ranahan, Peg and Francie Kenny, Haulie and Carmel Ryan, Liam Hernon there from the beginning it was well founded. We are a dual club with teams in all age grades including boys and girls up to the age of 12y. This year sees the development of the Askeaton Ballysteen Ladies Football Club which is a fantastic leap forward for our girls. We are based in Askeaton in Pairc na nGael. The Limerick County Bord games and development run the competitions up to the age of U11’s and the Limerick County Bord Na nÓg run the competitions from U13’s up to U17’s.

We have had some historic games and battles down through the years. 

The first piece of silverware that the new Bord na nÓg club won was when the under 16 hurlers defeated Ballybricken in the County final for the Kennedy Cup in 1995. Limerick hosted the Féile na nGael that year and the Askeaton/Ballysteen club were hosts to the London team. In 1998 Askeaton/Ballysteen hurlers and footballers won both the county hurling Féile na nGael and football Peil na nÓg finals. They went onto represent Limerick in Wexford in the hurling and Donegal in the football. We contested the final in the football but alas it was not to be. We have since hosted Feile on many occasions hosting Roscommon and Monaghan Harps who went on to win the division 5 title in 2013. In 2018 our footballers headed for Annacloune in Down where we reached the All-Ireland semi-final.

We have won many county titles up through the years and contested many also where we were defeated. We won the West Bord club of the year in 2008 and received our award in the Devon Inn Hotel. Our young players have had some great experiences getting to play in Croke park and in the Gaelic Grounds to name but a few great moments.

We have had the privilege of many of our club members representing us at county level in both codes such as Pa and Conor Ranahan, Raymond Hayes, James O’Meara, Danny Neville, and our most infamous William O’Meara who was part of the historic panel who won the 2018 All Ireland Hurling final. Many players from Kilcornan also play with us and they became an official part of the club which is a huge benefit. We also have players from surrounding parishes such as Cappagh and St Senan’s who play hurling with us and make an integral part of our team and club. We also have had teams who have competed very successfully in competed in the Scór Tráth na Gceist winning the county and narrowly missing out on the national title. We have a fantastic committee all through the years and we have gone from strength to strength. We are a very open club, are very diverse and welcome all ages and abilities.